Skip to content ↓


The School Governors

The Governing Body in state schools has responsibility for raising school standards through its three key roles of setting strategic direction, ensuring accountability and monitoring and evaluating school performance.

Our Governors are a dedicated and experienced team of volunteers who work tirelessly to support and challenge the school towards excellence.

Copies of the approved minutes of Full Governing Body meetings are available from the office on request.

Our current Governors are listed below;

Mrs Annette Di Giovanna - Vice Chair Full Governing Body
Co-Opted Governor

Member -  Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee, Head Teacher's Performance Review Committee    

Ares of responsibility - Safeguarding/Looked After Children/Behaviour Governor  

                                                - Teaching and Learning, KS1 Governor       

Annette first became a Governor when her daughter joined The Dawnay in 2004; she became Chair of Governors in 2007.  She is also a member of the Chairs of Governors monitoring group for ELP (our local confedaration of schools ) and is a Surrey Additional Skills Governor  for SCC to support other schools in the County.  Annette brings experience of Project Management, Training Development and Financial Management to the team.  She has lived in Bookham for 20 years and runs her own business.  Annette is extremly proud to be associated still with The Dawnay.


Mr Steven Wade  - Chair  Full Governing Body                                                                                

 Co-Opted Governor

Member -  Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee, Head Teacher's Performance Review Committee 

Area of responsibility - Teaching and Learning, Lower Juniors Governor

Steve joined The Dawnay as a co-opted governor in 2014. He has worked in education since 1995, currently as a director of a national schools group and a trustee for an academy group. His previous roles have included working as a head and class teacher in both primary and secondary schools. He lives in Dorking with his wife and three children.


Mr Lawrence Bate - Chair Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee (PPF)
Co-Opted Governor

Member - Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee, Pay Committee,

Area of responsibility - Teaching and lLearning, Upper Juniors Governor

Lawrence became a Parent Governor in 2008 , a Community Governor in 2012 and a Co-opted Governor in 2014.  He is the Chair of the Premises, Personnel and Finance Committee.  Lawrence has a background in Sales and  Marketing and has worked for private and public sector organisations.  He helps manage the Junior Boys athletics team at Dorking and Mole Valley AC, and is a keen marathon runner and cyclist as well as playing squash, badminton and volleyball.



Mrs Serena Hemmings - Interim Headteacher
Staff Governor

Member - Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee


Mrs Anne Henderson
Co-Opted Governor

Area of responsibility - Special Educational Needs Governor

Anne was appointed as a Governor in 2012 and is a former Deputy Head Teacher of The Dawnay.  Currently employed by Surrey County Council, Anne is a Specialist Teacher visiting a number of schools across the county, helping them to support pupils with Special Educational Needs.  A member of Bookham Players for twenty years, Anne lives in Ashtead with her husband and youngest son. 


Reverend Alan Jenkins
Local Authority Governor

Member -  Head Teacher's Performance Review Committee

Area of responsibility -English Governor

Alan has been involved with primary schools since 1995, a school governor since 2003, and a Governor at The Dawnay since 2008.  He takes assemblies at The Dawnay, and thinks the school's residentials are fantastic.  He is Rector of St Nicolas, Great Bookham, and  his three children have all been pupils at The Dawnay.  


Mrs Louise James

Staff Governor

Area of responsibility - Pupil Voice


 Mrs Fiona Ball

Parent Governor

Member - Pay Committee, Head teacher's Performance Review Committee

Are of responsibility - Safeguarding Governor (shadowing)

 Fiona has been a Parent Governor since 2016 when her children joined The Dawnay.  She is a director of corporate social responsibility for an entertainment company.  Fiona brings experience of Project Management, Marketing & Communications to the team. She lives in Bookham with her 3 boys and husband.


Mr Andrew Rourke

Parent Governor

Member - Pay Committee

Area of responsibility - Premiums and Vulnerable Groups Governor

Andrew became a parent governor in 2016 and has three daughters at The Dawnay. Andrew moved to Bookham with his family in 2011. In 2013 he moved to Shanghai, China before returning to Bookham in 2015. Andrew is a partner in an international law firm, but in the dim and distant past spent a year teaching English at a school in Vienna, Austria.


Mr Christopher Watney  

Co-opted  Governor

Member - Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee

Area of responsibility -  Maths Governor

Chris became an Associate Member in May 2016 and a Co-opted Governor in September 2016 and holds a place on the Premises, Personnel and Finance committee. Chris lives in Bookham with his wife Esther and two children, the oldest of which started at the Dawnay in 2015. Chris has a background in Retail Management and when not working is a keen runner and active member of Bookham Tennis Club.


Mrs Kate Hargreaves

Co-opted Governor

Member - Personnel, Premises and Finance Committee


In Attendance:

Mrs Kayleigh Hewitt-Lee - Deputy Headteacher
Associate Member 

Mrs Alexandra Fox - Associate Member (PPF Committee)

Mrs Marie Booth - Associate Member

Mr William Prosser - Associate Member

Mrs June Hughes - Clerk to Governors